Home > Regional Data > Regional Data
South Central Kansas

Move your mouse over a county to see more information. Click to visit that counties' page.

South Central Kansas Regional County Data

The Greater Wichita Partnership, South Central Kansas region, is made up of 10 counties: Butler, Cowley, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Marion, McPherson, Reno, Sedgwick and Sumner. Throughout the region, site selectors will find an abundance of all things necessary for choosing the perfect business location. As you scroll over each county, learn more about the communities, click on each county to learn more about the specific region.

Regional Data


Land Area (square miles) -- 2010


Total Population -- 2017789,783
Average Population Density (per sq. mile) -- 201778.69
Median Age -201640.56
Educational Attainment -- (Population Age 25+) - 2016

   High School Graduate or Higher


   Some College -- No Degree


   Associate Degree


   Bachelor Degree or Higher

Average 1-Way Commute to Work (minutes) - 201619.27
Civilian Labor Force - 2017379,907



   Unemployment Rate

Business Establishments -- 201719,486



   Average Annual Pay


Median Household Income - 2016


Source: Land Area -- 2010 Census; Population Density -- Based on 2010 Land Area and 2017 American Community Survey 1-Year Estimates; Median Age, Educational Attainment, Average Commute Time and Median Household Income -- 2012-2016 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates; Business Establishments, Employees, Average Annual Pay -- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages; Labor Force Data -- Local Area Unemployment Statistics